Joint Office Staff


The Joint Office currently has seven staff members, all of whom are seconded by the Gas Transporters. They have extensive experience of the governance processes surrounding development of the commercial arrangements which underpin the gas industry in GB.  Brief details of each staff member are provided below.

All can be contacted via or 0121 288 2107.


Les Jenkins

Chief Executive

Les has some 36 years experience in the gas industry, originally joining North West Gas in Warrington and enjoying a number of roles in the industrial and commercial sector before joining Transco just after the implementation of the first Network Code. Since then he has been involved in a variety of roles, from gas Shipper account management and quality management to being part of the Network Sales team. He next joined National Grid's Transmission business, where he has managed a number of gas commercial processes and systems projects and, more recently, connections policy for both the gas and electricity transmission systems. He took over the Chief Executive role at the end of 2013 and chairs the Governance Workgroup, the Change Overview Board (COB) and the Performance Assurance Committee (PAC). He also acts as Deputy Chair of the UNC Modification Panel.

Bob Fletcher

Workgroup Chair

Bob has over 40 years' experience in the gas industry, originally joining West Midlands Gas, Distribution. In recent years he has been involved in the development of Siteworks agreements, metering separation and separation of National Grid and sold Networks systems.  He is Chair of the Distribution Workgroup (DWG),  the Offtake Arrangements Workgroup (OAW) and Offtake Committee, the RbD Audit Sub-committee, the Standards of Service Sub-committee, and the Energy Balancing Credit Committee (EBCC) and is also Secretary to the UNC Modification Panel and the UNC Committee (UNCC).

Rebecca Hailes

Workgroup Chair

Rebecca has over 18 years’ experience working with energy technologies, both in the UK and overseas. Prior to joining the Joint Office, Rebecca previously worked with Synnogy Ltd and E4tech, focusing on new energy strategy, development opportunities and horizon scanning for blue chips and large public bodies such as E.On, GE, Uniper, Balfour Beatty and HSL. A key focus was fuel cells and hydrogen. She previously worked in product development with Nuvera Fuel Cells in the US and at Kodak. She holds degrees in Environmental Technology, Manufacturing Engineering and German from Brunel University and Imperial College. Rebecca is a Chartered Engineer and joins the Joint Office to chair various Workgroups and Committees.


Helen Bennett

Workgroup Coordinator

Helen has over 30 years’ experience in the Gas Industry, originally joining British Gas on a 6 month Youth Opportunities Scheme and then working in various departments from Customer Services to Performance Reporting. She then enjoyed some time at Npower and Xoserve before moving to National Grid and the Gas Incentive Team managing the Capacity Auction process. Helen joins the Joint Office as Workgroup Coordinator from February 2017; responsibilities are yet to be determined.


Helen Cuin

Workgroup Coordinator

Helen has over 28 years' experience in the gas industry, originally joining British Gas as a Commercial Trainee. Helen joined the Joint Office in 2005.  She is Chair of the Demand Estimation Sub-committee (DESC), the DESC Technical Workgroup, and the Shrinkage Forum (SF), and is also Secretary to the Offtake Arrangements Workgroup (OAW), and the Offtake Committee, the Energy Balancing Credit Committee (EBCC), the DSC Change Management Commitee, and the DSC Credit Commitee.


Karen Visgarda

Workgroup Coordinator

Karen joined the Joint Office in March 2015 and although new to the gas industry, she brings a wealth of experience regarding customer account management, communications, stakeholder engagement, product implementation and project management from both the Automotive and Retail logistics industries. She is Secretary to the Transmission Workgroup, and other Workgroups and Committtees, as required.

Mike Berrisford

Workgroup Coordinator

Mike has over 40 years' experience in the gas industry, originally joining British Gas as an Apprentice Gas Fitter.  He is the Secretary to the Distribution Workgroup (DWG) and the Distribution Networks Charging Methodology Forum (DNCMF).

Follow JointOffice on Twitter